Community Members Earn Awards for Service

Nicole Shives, M.S., M.S., Dr. Patricia Book Perry Faculty of the Year Award

Nicole Shives, M.S., M.S., has been a faculty member in the General Education department at Clarkson College since 2016. She currently teaches lecture and lab courses in anatomy and physiology and has also received the Employee Scholar Award and the Faculty Senate Excellence in Teaching Award during her time at the College. She is enrolled in the Doctor of Healthcare Education and Leadership (Ed.D.) program at the College.

In her nomination form, Shives was described as “someone who provides generous support, is professional, a mentor, motivated, and an expert in her field.” She is proud to be a recipient, especially in recognition of Dr. Patricia Book Perry, the award’s namesake and first president of the College.

"Clarkson College is a special place because of the vision of Dr. Patricia Book Perry,” says Shives. “She set the expectations for how faculty should prepare students for their careers in health care. I am honored to win an award that bears her name.”

Jen Wilson, M.A., Dr. Otto Bauer Distinguished Service Award

Jen Wilson, M.A., came to Clarkson College in 2016 as the Assistant Registrar and in 2019 became an Academic Advisor. In 2022, she became the Academic and Student Support Coordinator where she helps students connect with academic resources as they progress through their course of study. She also teaches in the General Education program at the College.

In her eight years at the College, Wilson has held multiple roles, but her dedication to students has remained the same. It is this dedication that led to her nomination by her peers.

“It’s such an honor and a little overwhelming to win this award,” she says. “I truly do love and appreciate our students, and I work hard every day to make sure they know that.”