Omicron Epsilon Members Shine at Professional Conference

Members of Omicron Epsilon, the Clarkson College chapter of the Sigma Theta Tau Nursing Honors Society, attended the 45th Sigma Biennial Convention from Nov. 16­–20 in Washington, D.C. where they received recognition for their dedication to the organization and nursing profession.

Rebecca Ehrig, BSN, RN, (’18) a graduate of the Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN) program option, accepted the New Member Pillar Award during the convention. During her time at Clarkson College, Ehrig joined Omicron Epsilon, worked at the Success Center as a tutor and served as a Supplemental Instructor for her fellow students. Following graduation, Ehrig began working at CHI Health Creighton University Medical Center - Bergan Mercy in Omaha, Neb.

The New Member Pillar Award recognizes a recently inducted member whose service positively impacts Sigma Theta Tau, their chapter and the nursing profession. In her nomination form, Associate Professor and Omicron Epsilon Faculty Advisor Nancy McMahon, MSN, RN, CNE, CPN, highlighted Ehrig’s commitment to the organization and its growth. “Rebecca’s involvement and leadership in Omicron Epsilon has inspired other students to accept their invitations to join Sigma." 

Omicron Epsilon member and Graduate Nursing graduate Robert Dave Buot, MSN, APRN, FNP-C, (‘18) also attended the conference where he presented his research during an oral presentation. Buot spoke about “Sensorial Disturbances of Prefilled Saline Flushes and Their Impact on Cancer Patients” along with his faculty advisor Associate Professor Jane Langemeier, Ph.D., MSN, RN.

McMahon also participated in the educational sessions and presented the clinical peer-reviewed poster “Interprofessional Collaborative Care: An Evidence-Based Approach to Health Care Education.” McMahon collaborated with several other Clarkson College faculty and staff members on the poster, which explored the benefits of an interprofessional approach to health care education.

As one of the Omicron Epsilon faculty advisors, McMahon accepted the Chapter Key Award during the conference’s award ceremony. The award is the ninth earned by the organization since it was chartered in 1998. The Chapter Key Award honors chapters and its members who contribute to professional and leadership development, membership recruitment and retention, and local, national and international collaboration. 

The chapter also earned the Showcase of Regional Excellence Award that recognizes the work of chapters in relation to the Sigma Presidential Call to Action. The initiative encourages members to connect, collaborate and catalyze with one another to advance world health. Award recipients must demonstrate their chapter’s ability to fulfill criteria related to each action.